Executive Education presents seven awards

Author: Dennis Information

Executive Education at the University of Notre Dame presented seven awards this week to individuals, business partners and customers for their contributions and commitment to the program.

They are as follows:

• John Affleck-Graves, vice president, associate provost and Notre Dame Professor of Finance, received the Arnie Ludwig Outstanding Teacher Award. The honor goes to a faculty member in the South Bend-based Executive MBA Program and is named for the former dean of the program.

• The Chicago EMBA Outstanding Teacher Award was presented to Ramachandran Ramanan, assistant chair and professor of accountancy. He is one of some 30 Notre Dame faculty members who teach in the EMBA program that was established last year at the Summit Executive Centre in the Michigan Plaza building, located at 205 N. Michigan Ave., in downtown Chicago.

• The Inspiring Educator Award was presented to David Hayes, William Alexander Nolan Director in Family Business Enterprise in the Gigot Center for Entrepreneurial Studies. Hayes had served as an adjunct faculty member at Notre Dame for 14 years until his appointment to his current position last year.

• James McGraw, a 1971 graduate, received the Distinguished Alumni Award. McGraw is president and chief executive officer of KMK Consulting Company, the Cincinnati firm in which Notre Dame established an EMBA distance learning classroom in 2000. He is a member of the executive education advisory board and of the Irish Angels, the group dedicated to supporting aspiring entrepreneurs from Notre Dame.

• The Partner in Innovation Award was presented to SBC, a San Antonio communications firm that has played an integral role in Notre Dame's successful distance learning program.

• The Outstanding Leadership in Executive Education Award is presented to organizations that support the degree and non-degree programs in executive education. AM General of Mishawaka was honored in the degree category and the National Council of State Housing Agencies received the non-degree award.