Mendoza School of Business

Notre Dame business professor named marketer of the year

Published: November 5, 2021 / Author: Carol Elliott


University of Notre Dame marketing professor Timothy Bohling was named as the American Marketing Association Marketer of the Year, an award that recognizes leadership and achievement in the field of higher education marketing.


Tim Bohling

Bohling, who joined Notre Dame in January 2019, serves as a teaching professor of marketing and Chief Marketing and Graduate Enrollment Officer at Mendoza College of Business. As part of his role, he oversees marketing strategy for Mendoza’s 11 graduate programs and teaches digital marketing courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and strategic marketing in the Executive MBA program.

“Tim’s visionary leadership has revolutionized our marketing, resulting in growth in applications, and improved class profiles and sizes, and substantial gains in key diversity metrics, such as a substantial increase in the enrollment of women in our MBA program,” said Martijn Cremers, Martin J. Gillen Dean of the Mendoza College of Business.

His accomplishments at Mendoza include implementing an innovative playbook across the entire student enrollment journey and linked to a transparent dashboard with key metrics to track progress; leading the reorganization of the marketing and graduate enrollment staff into a matrix structure; and implementing a comprehensive marketing strategy around a new mission-centered imperative, Grow the Good in Business™.

In addition, Bohling is an accomplished global business leader, teacher and scholar, having held several vice president and C-suite positions responsible for leading marketing transformation and entrepreneurial business building at IBM, HCL Technologies, Stratasys and Georgia State University while concurrently publishing several research papers in top scholarly journals. He also is the founder of a marketing consulting company. Prior to joining Notre Dame, he served as marketing professor of practice and chief marketing and communications officer at Georgia State University Robinson College of Business.

The AMA bestows this Higher Education Marketer of the Year Award annually. The winner is selected by a panel consisting of marketing experts and practitioners with expertise in the field of higher education marketing. Selection criteria includes the areas of vision and leadership, strategy and results. The awards are sponsored by Chicago-based marketing firm Lipman Hearne.

More information about the American Marketing Association Market of the Year Award is available on the website.