Mendoza School of Business

Jim O’Rourke Receives 2017 Page Society Distinguished Service Award

Published: September 17, 2017 / Author: Arthur W. Page Society

James O’Rourke IV

Jim O’Rourke has devoted his life to practicing and teaching corporate communications. In recognition of his many career accomplishments and his vast record of service to our profession, he has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Arthur W. Page Society’s Distinguished Service Award.


“In a career spanning over four decades, Jim has made major contributions to business and corporate communication. In recognition of his accomplishments and his vast record of service to our profession, we are proud and privileged to recognize him with our Distinguished Service award.”

Bill Nielsen, retired corporate vice president of Johnson & Johnson and the chair of the Arthur W. Page Society’s Honors Committee.

About Jim O’Rourke

  • He is the founding director of the Conference on Corporate Communications at Notre Dame, which nearly 700 people have attended over the past two decades.
  • Jim is the author or co-author of numerous books, as well as the principal author or directing editor of more than 375 original case studies in Corporate Communications.
  • His research appears in The SAGE Encyclopedia of Corporate Reputation, The UN Millennium Development Goals, The UN Global Compact and the Common Good.  
  • He has been a member of the Arthur W. Page Society since 1997, a trustee for 14 years and is currently the chair of the Educator Sub-Committee.
  • Jim has served as a board member of the Institute for Public Relations, the Management Communication Association, and other academic and professional societies. Over the past 30 years, he has conducted dozens of pro-bono workshops, seminars and professional development sessions for professional colleagues, for the not-for-profit sector, NGOs, and for government agencies.
  • He is also a regular consultant to Fortune 500 and mid-size businesses throughout North America. 

About the Page Society Distinguished Service Award  The Distinguished Service Award honors an individual who has strengthened the role of public relations in business and society through service, writing, research, speaking or teaching. Recipients have devoted themselves to services that help build and nurture the profession, advance the understanding, practice or teaching of public relations and corporate communications and strengthen the role of public relations in our society. The most recent recipients are Aedhmar Haynes of Text100, Frank Ovaitt of the Institute for Public Relations and John Onoda of FleishmanHillard.

View the original news release and a video interview with O’Rourke on the Arthur W. Page Society website.