Mendoza School of Business

Luis Gómez-Mejia named to Thomson Reuters top 1 percent of highly cited scholars

Published: January 22, 2016 / Author: Nina Welding

Five University of Notre Dame faculty members — Bertrand Hochwald and J. Nicholas Laneman from the College of EngineeringTimothy Beers and Prashant Kamat from the College of Science, and Luis Gómez-Mejia from the Mendoza College of Business — have been named to the 2015 Thomson Reuters’ Highly Cited Researchers list. The list identifies the top 1 percent of the almost 9 million scholars and scientists who publish their academic findings every year, accounting for more than 2 million journal papers.

Cited by Thomson Reuters for his work in economics and business, Gómez-Mejia serves as the Ray and Milann Siegfried Professor of Management. Publishing more than 200 articles in the most prestigious management journals, he is ranked one of the most highly cited scholars and one of the 12 most published authors in the “big eight” management journals out of approximately 20,000 Academy of Management members. He has also written and edited more than 15 books in various management areas, including his areas of expertise — international management, family business, strategic management and executive compensation. A member of the Hall of Fame of the Academy of Management, Gómez-Mejia has received numerous awards for his research and was elected as a member of the Board of Governors of the Academy of Management, as well as three-term president of the Iberoamerican Academy of Management, which covers Spain, Portugal, all of Latin America, and Hispanic faculty in U.S. universities. He has also served as president of the Personnel/Human Resources Division of the Academy of Management.

Gómez-Mejia came to the University in 2013 from his position as the Benton Cocanaugher Chair in Business at Texas A&M University. Prior to that he served as a faculty member at Arizona State University, where he was a Council of 100 Distinguished Scholar, a Regents Professor and Arizona Heritage Chair holder.

More information about the methodology behind the list is available at Thomson Reuters.

Read the entire story on the University of Notre Dame website.