Mendoza School of Business

Notre Dame Business Dean receives honorary doctorate

Published: December 20, 2010 / Author: Carol Elliott

University of Notre Dame Dean Carolyn Y. Woo received an honorary doctoral degree from Lewis University during the school’s undergraduate commencement ceremony on Sunday, Dec. 19.

Woo, the Martin J. Gillen Dean of the Mendoza College of Business holds honorary doctorates from the University of St. Francis and Providence College, as well.

Located in the Romeoville, Ill., Lewis University is a comprehensive, Catholic university that enrolls about 6,100 students and employs 200 full-time faculty members. It offers more than 80 undergraduate majors and programs of study, as well as 25 graduate degree programs and certificates of advanced study. Lewis, founded in 1932, is one of many schools sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers, an international Roman Catholic teaching order, with more than 320 years of teaching experience in the Lasallian tradition. Brother James Gaffney, FSC, serves as president of the university.

Woo assumed the deanship of the Mendoza College of Business at the University of Notre Dame in 1997. The Mendoza College of Business is ranked No. 1 for its undergraduate business program and ethics curriculum. She serves on the boards of six publically traded firms, as well as Catholic Charities USA, University of Notre Dame Australia and the University of Portland. Woo recently concluded six years of service on the board of Catholic Relief Services.


Topics: Main