Mendoza School of Business

Faculty awards honor undergraduate teaching and advising

Published: May 18, 2021 / Author: Chloe McCotter

Golden Dome

Two Mendoza College of Business faculty members were awarded for excellence in undergraduate teaching:

In total, twenty-one University of Notre Dame faculty members received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and three were honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, and the recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

The Joyce Awards, established in 2007, are supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates of Notre Dame’s Class of 1937. They honor faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching, and, in particular, recognize professors who create environments that stimulate significant student learning, elevate students to a new level of intellectual engagement and foster students’ ability to express themselves effectively within their disciplines.

The Dockweiler Awards, established in 2007 with a gift from the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation, recognize faculty or staff members who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to Notre Dame undergraduates through outstanding mentoring, academic advising or career counseling services.