Mendoza School of Business

Mendoza faculty receive coveted awards for research papers

Published: January 6, 2022 / Author: Brandi Wampler

professors receiving awardUniversity of Notre Dame professors Nicholas Berente, the Viola D. Hank Associate Professor of IT, Analytics, and Operations (ITAO); John Lalor, assistant professor of ITAO; and Junghee Lee, assistant professor of ITAO, were recognized for their research papers at the 2021 International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS). All are faculty members at Notre Dame’s Mendoza College of Business.

Berente and Lalor received the Association for Information Systems (AIS) ICIS Best Theory Development Paper Award, which recognizes a completed research paper that displays insightful abstraction from data and/or prior literature to advance the state of knowledge on an existing theory or to offer a new theoretical perspective. Berente is co-director of the Gaming Analytics and Business Research (GAMA) Lab and received his Ph.D. from Case Western Reserve University’s Weatherhead School of Management. Lalor received his Ph.D. at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in the College of Information and Computer Science.

Lee received the Best Student Paper Award on Information Systems, Innovation and Entrepreneurship sponsored by the Kauffman Foundation, which recognizes a paper that provides scholarly contribution to the state of existing knowledge. Lee completed his Ph.D. in Innovation, Technology and Operations Management at the University of California San Diego.

Created by the AIS, the ICIS is described as the “most prestigious gathering of information systems academics and research-oriented practitioners in the world.” Annually, the conference presents approximately 270 papers and panel presentations over a period of four days to an audience consisting primarily of academics.

The AIS is described as the “premier professional association for individuals and organizations who lead the research, teaching, practice and study of information systems worldwide.”

To learn more about the conference and its awards, please visit